Giving Back

Giving Back

At Hopkins & Carley, we are committed to supporting the communities in which we work and live.  We honor and continue the tradition started by John Hopkins, our founder, of using our abilities and resources for the benefit of others, whether we are helping the community gain access to our legal system through pro bono work, providing financial support or devoting personal time in volunteer service to non-profit, civic and professional organizations.

We value the well-being of our community as we would that of our own children.
– John Hopkins, Founder

Our people take a personal interest in the vitality of the communities around Silicon Valley, and our firm strongly supports individual commitments to community service and leadership.  For more than 50 years, our attorneys and staff have demonstrated their commitment by serving on the governing boards and in leadership positions of many organizations.  We have also successfully tried numerous pro bono white-collar criminal cases for the Santa Clara County Public Defender’s Office.  Recent examples of volunteer leadership roles held by Hopkins & Carley employees include Mayor of Gilroy, Chair of the San Jose City Council Planning Commission, Chairs of the Palo Alto and Silicon Valley/San Jose Chambers of Commerce, and board and executive leadership positions in Black Women Lawyers of California, Boy Scouts of America, California Women Lawyers, March of Dimes, Palo Alto Medical Foundation, Planned Parenthood, Rotary Club and the YMCA. 

For a list that captures our commitment, involvement, and common desire to give back to our communities, please click below:

Addison-Penzak Jewish Community Center
Allonn Levy, Past President/Chair and Vice Chairperson 

Alum Rock Counseling Center
Jennifer S. Coleman, Advisory Board Member

Asian Law Alliance
Ruby H. Kazi, Board Member and Past President
Cary Chien, Advisory Board Member

Bill Wilson Center
Erika J. Gasaway, Board Member

Black Women Lawyers of Northern California 
Monique Jewett-Brewster, Past Treasurer and Board Member

Boy Scouts of America, Silicon Valley Monterey Bay Council
Garth E. Pickett, Area Vice President and Regional BoardExecutive Board Member and Past Council President 

California Lawyers Association, Trust & Estate Executive Committee
Ellen McKissock, Past Chair

California Minority Counsel Program (CMCP) 
Monique Jewett-Brewster, Ambassadors Council Member

City of Gilroy
Perry Woodward, Former Mayor

City of San Jose
Chuck Reed, Former Mayor

City of San Jose Mayor’s Arts 20/20 Task Force
Stephen J. Kottmeier, Chair

Community Gatepath Advisory Board
Gail M. Hashimoto, Board of Directors

CreaTV San Jose
Jennifer S. Coleman, Board of Directors

Diocese of San Jose
Richard M. Noack, Permanent Deacon

El Camino Hospital Foundation Planned Giving Council
Laurie-Ann Look, Member  

Financial Women of San Francisco
Monique Jewett-Brewster, Former Secretary and Chair of Scholarship Committee

First Community Housing
Matt P. James, Board of  Directors

Good Karma Bikes
William S. Klein, Board Chair

Graceful Giving
Maria Bellafronto, Co-Founder
Mary Elizabeth Cirone, Member

Happy Hollow Foundation
Matt P. James, Board of Directors 

IP Justice
Allonn E. Levy, Board of Directors  

Jewish Community Federation and Endowment Fund
Charles H. Packer, Chair of the Legal and Tax Professional Subcommittee

Jewish Community Relations Council of Silicon Valley
Jay M. Ross, Formerly on Board of Directors

Junior Achievement of Silicon Valley and Monterey Bay
Jedidiah L. Dooley, Advisory Board Member     

Junior League of San Jose
Dori Yob Kilmer, Board of Directors

Leadership San Jose
Dori Yob Kilmer, Class of 2009
Jedidiah L. Dooley, Class of 2011 
Mary Elizabeth Cirone, Class of 2014
Erika J. Gasaway, Class of 2015 

Little Italy San Jose
Maria S. Bellafronto, Advisory Board Member 

Loaves & Fishes Family Kitchen
Richard M. Noack, Advisory Board Member

Los Altos Community Foundation Planned Giving Council
Laurie-Ann Look, Member 

National Coalition of 100 Black Women
Monique Jewett-Brewster, Silicon Valley Chair, former Public Policy Committee Member

Notre Dame High School
Dori Yob Kilmer, Board of Directors

Palo Alto Chamber of Commerce
Peter F. Stone, Chair of the Board of Directors

Palo Alto Medical Foundation Community Board of Trustees
Peter LaBoskey, Chair

Pacific Collegiate School Mock Trial Team
Christopher Hohn, Coach

Peninsula Joint Powers Authority
Perry Woodward, Board of Directors (Caltrain), Chair of the Board of Directors

Planned Parenthood Mar Monte
Joan R. Gallo, Board of Directors 

REACH Youth Scholarships
Ryan D. Cunningham, Board Member  

Rotary Club of San Jose 
Jay M. Ross, President, Board of Directors
Chuck Reed, Member since 1990, Director 1996-99
Erika J. Gasaway, Member

San Jose Downtown Association
Liam O’Connor, Treasurer and Executive, and Finance Committee Board Member
Cory B. Cullen, Historic District Committee Member
Chuck Reed, Director 1988-95, President 1989

San Jose’s First Community Housing
Matthew P. James, Board Member

San Jose Nonprofit Development Corporation 
Jay M. Ross, Formerly on Board of Directors

San Jose Planning Commission
Dori Yob Kilmer, Past Chair
Chuck Reed, Past Chair
Jay M. Ross, Past 2-Term Chair 

San Jose Repertory Theater 
Jay M. Ross, Former Board Counsel

Santa Clara University Planned Giving Advisory Council
Charles H. Packer, Chair  

Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority
Perry Woodward, Past Member
Chuck Reed, Past Member

Second Harvest Food Bank
Mark Heyl, Former Board Member

Silicon Valley Bar Association
Ellen McKissock, Past President, Board of Trustees and Chair of Executive Committee

Silicon Valley Creates
Cary Chien, Board Member
Gail M. Hashimoto, Past President and Board of Directors
Stephen J. Kottmeier, Former Chair

Silicon Valley FACES
Daniel F. Pyne, Board  of Directors

Silicon Valley Interreligious Council (SiVIC)
Garth E. Pickett, Officer & Director

Silicon Valley March of Dimes
Jeffrey Essner, Chair, Annual Fundraising Event Committee   

Silicon Valley Organization (SVO)
William S. Klein, Former Legal Counsel and Past Board Chair
Chuck Reed, Director 1984-92, Chair of the Board of Directors 1990

Silicon Valley Organization (SVO) PAC
Jay M. Ross, Board of Trustees and Executive Committee, Former Chair
Cary Chien, Board Member

Silicon Valley Talent Partnership
Chuck Reed, Past Board Chair

Dori Yob Kilmer, Board of Directors

St. Francis High School Endowment Fundraising Committee
Jim Hager, Member

Swords to Plowshares
Christopher M. Long, Pro Bono Attorney

Thirty One Women
Maria S. Bellafronto, Co-Founder 
Dori Yob Kilmer, Member
Karen Reinhold, Member

YMCA – Palo Alto
Peter F. Stone, Board Member and Fundraising Program Organizer

YMCA of Santa Clara Valley
Stephen J. Kottmeier, Board of Directors and Executive Committee

Stay up to date on the latest news, alerts, events and legal insights: